Redefining “Walking Distance”

Image

A couple of years ago I got bored and I decided to run a 1/2 marathon and get some chickens.  (Chickens are easier than marathons, take my word for it.)  Last winter I got bored and I decided to hike as much of the Sierra Nevada mountain range as I could.  450 miles later my own personal definition of the term “walking distance” has been forever altered.

When I returned home from the trip I tried to think of a snappy comment to send out to the word on the internet but I was at a loss and all I could come up with was: I’m home! Not sure how to sum up that trip in a Facebook post, but I’m home after one incredible vacation.

To have those be the only words that I share from all that I got to see seems to be a disservice to the blessings of the trip.  Many times as I hiked and lived in the gorgeous and seemingly endless wilderness I thought to myself ‘people need to know this exists.’  I’m not sure I wholly understand what I mean by that or why I felt it so strongly but perhaps it is the same sentiment that author and environmentalist Wallace Stegner was trying to communicate when he said:

We simply need that wild country available to us, even if we never do more than drive to its edge and look in.

I hope that in some way this blog will make the wild country that I got to pass through available to you to look in at.

Leave a Reply

